From brewing to distilling

From 1637 to 1927, the “miller’s dynasty” Van Breedam grind and distil grain to jenever on the Molenberg in Blaasveld. In 1872, Louis Van Breedam and his sister leave the Molenberg and become brewers in Mechelen. Until today the Molenberg is still in the hands of the family and continues the tradition.

Charles Leclef grows up in the brewery but remains in touch with the Molenberg in Blaasveld, where his uncle lives. In 1990, after Charles modernizes the brewery, he comes up with a daring plan. In the Molenberg, he wants to distil beer to alcohol: whisky. This whisky distillery becomes the perfect match between two family traditions, brewing and distilling.

The Process

Beer and whisky are both produced from grains. Charles believes in a fine malt whisky distilled from the mash from Gouden Carolus Tripel. This beer is brewed with the best pale malts and has a very special character. Today the spirit of the Gouden Carolus Single Malt is distilled to ripe into a whisky with a balanced and pure taste and different fruit and wood touches. Brewing came from distilling in 1872 and today we can brew beer from distilling. The circle is closed.

Someone who wants to distil whisky has to follow the rules of art. In Blaasveld, a modern, fully-fledged production-unit is gleaming, installed according to the valid whisky standards. The two pot stills, made by Forsyths, one of the most well known coppersmiths in Scotland, create the heart of the new distillery.

Gouden Carolus Single Malt

De la brasserie à la distillation

De 1637 à 1927, la “famille de meuniers” Van Breedam a exploité une petite distillerie au Molenberg à Blaasveld. En 1872, Louis Van Breedam et sa soeur Anne quittent le Molenberg pour devenir brasseurs à Malines. Le Molenberg reste aux mains de la famille et la tradition se perpétue.

Charles Leclef, cinquième génération de la famille Van Breedam, passe son enfance dans la brasserie à Malines, mais connaît aussi le Molenberg à Blaasveld, où son oncle Michel Van Breedam habite. Alors qu’il est train de moderniser la brasserie en 1990, l’idée de distiller la bière en whisky mûrit dans son esprit. Il veut distiller au Molenberg : de la bière au distillat, c’est-à-dire au whisky. Cette distillerie devient la combinaison parfaite entre les deux traditions de famille: brasser et distiller.

Le Processus

La bière et le whisky sont produits à base de grains. Charles croit en un fin whisky single malt distillé à partir du brassin de la Gouden Carolus Tripel. Cette bière est brassée avec les meilleurs malts et a un caractère spécial. Aujourd’hui, l’esprit du Gouden Carolus Single Malt est de distiller pour arriver à un whisky au goût équilibré et pur avec quelques touches de fruité et de boisé. En 1872, la distillerie est devenue brasserie. Aujourd’hui la bière retourne à la distillerie. La boucle est bouclée.

Distiller le whisky suppose de respecter les règles de l’art. A Blaasveld, il y a une unité de production moderne et complète, correspondant aux normes de distillation du whisky. Les deux chaudrons – fabriqués par Forsyths, un des chaudronniers les plus renommés d’Ecosse – sont le cœur de la distillerie nouvelle.

Gouden Carolus Single Malt